Aldi Lightway 5W LED Trekking Torch – review

It seems that you can’t go far on these islands without bumping into the ubiquitous budget German supermarket Aldi. My better half and I pop into our local one about once a month to scoop up various bargains (I’m particularly a fan of their gherkins). They like to do special offers on household items and have provided a smartphone app (there’s an app for everything, right?) which I periodically check for anything interesting.

Anywhere, gherkins aside, I recently saw that they were selling a pretty decent-looking LED torch for £6.99. At that price I thought I’d have a punt, and here’s what I found.

20160530_100835

Once I’d cut through the thick plastic clamshell packaging (I had to use some tough meat scissors) I was impressed with what popped out. The torch itself is made of what seems like a tough anodized aluminium, probably a better aluminium than my soft Maglite (although that’s not difficult…). It certainly feels sturdy and solid in the hand.

20160530_100954

20160530_100223

Opening the battery compartment (the tail cap), I found the threads to be nice and smooth with no nicks or catching bits. It takes 2 x AA batteries.

20160527_151357

20160530_100245

It’s operated in reverse-clicky style (it comes on only after you’ve released the button after pressing) using a typical rubber-covered button in the tail cap. It cycles between full on, 50% and off. It uses a Cree XP-G2 LED (same as my Fenix), and the paperwork claims that it does 160 lumens, so I have to assume that’s 100%, so 50% mode will be around 80 lumens. Having used it around the house and garden I think most people will find the 50% mode adequate for most things. Battery life is claimed to be 7hrs on 50%, 3.5hrs on full. I simply haven’t used this long enough to confirm any of that though. I can’t tell yet if the voltage is regulated.

20160530_100346

Pulling the head of the torch outwards moves the beam from flood to spot. Note that it’s not turned like a Maglite, but simply pulled straight outwards. The spot beam shape is a slightly rounded square, while the flood is round and pretty wide with not ‘hot spot’. The beam seems pretty clean, with no obvious artifacts or weirdness.

It comes with a nylon pouch, which is handy to protect the plastic lens, although seems slightly too small for the torch, which is odd. The torch only seems to be splash-proof, so I would be wary of using it in heavy rain. Also a couple of batteries are included, although I put some ‘leak proof’ Energizer alkalines in. I might try some lithium primaries next time.

20160530_100707

Overall, I think a torch like this for £6.99 is a pretty mad bargain. Construction seems very sturdy, similar to other lights I own which are 4-5 times the price, with no loose bits or any obvious problems. Beam is satisfyingly bright and clean. Certainly a usable addition to your torch collection. Stick it in your car, rucksack or even your EDC. I’m off to rural Ireland in a few weeks to see a friend, so I’m hoping to put it through its paces. Get it while it’s available (in the store and online), if not, keep your eye out for its next Aldi appearance. And pick up a jar of their gherkins while you’re at it.

Pros:

  • Solid construction
  • Price
  • Good beam

Cons:

  • Waterproofing could be better
  • Nylon pouch could fit better

That was my first ever torch review, so I hope it proved useful!

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Aldi Lightway 5W LED Trekking Torch – review

    1. Thanks! I’m afraid I can’t measure it accurately, but comparing it to my other lights, I think the lumens quoted are fairly honest. It’s the brightest I have, as my Fenix LD12 only goes up to 125 lumens, and I compared them side by side with fresh batteries and it beat the Fenix. I’ve been using it a lot and it’s still a great light.

      Like

    1. Hmm, hard to say. The packaging has the Aldi logo on it, but it’s possible that Lightway make budget lights for other retailers, so maybe similar places like Lidl etc. And £5 is an even better price!

      Like

  1. Nice review thanks. I have several of these now. I like it so much I went back to buy a few more.

    Regarding the pouch, I also noticed it seemed a bit small for the Lamp then I put the lamp in head first and it fit perfectly. Also make sure to collapse the head from spot mode back to flood mode by pulling the head in. Head first in the pouch works better for me and the Velcro lid folds shut perfectly now.

    Like

  2. I think paid around $A10 for this torch In Australia about a year ago and at first I was very happy with it as it was a small size for its light output which was very good but in the last couple of weeks the light has been flickering and going out without warning. It seems like the switch is faulty or maybe because the batteries started leaking once about 3 months ago and corroded a bit inside the tube I have now a problem. Like most people I did not keep the packaging and cant find my receipt but I will try and find the cause before I go and see the Aldi store where I bought it. I have to say that Aldi are first class when it comes to making a complaint about their products and have refunded my money without any problems. I just wish the torch hadn’t developed this fault and would like to keep on using it. 4.5 /5 for the torch overall but 1/5 for it developing a fault so soon.

    Like

Leave a comment